I consider myself fairly savvy when it comes to computers. I was a software engineer before I became a diaper disposal engineer after all. But this blogging thing I’ve been avoiding for some time. I do enjoy reading the occasional blog, including those others have written about their suburban lives with their suburban children. Personally though, it’s a little scary to me. Sure, I have the fear of being judged on the ridiculousness of our day-to-day lives, I’m afraid I’ll be hooked on blog-stats and wonder why no one is visiting our blog “Don’t they like us?”, but my greatest fear is the transference of blog responsibility. Let me explain…

It always starts out innocently enough. Stefan decides he is now interested in pursuing “abc” as a hobby. Usually this involves laying down a decent amount of cash, although always just under my “way too expensive” threshold. Then he becomes obsessed with “abc” and he talks about it constantly, I end up learning in excruciating details how to do this and that and how important it is to remember, blah, blah, blah. Next he determines that he could buy the equipment required to do “abc” at an okay price if he buys it used, but who wants to do that? So now we outlay a large amount of cash which is way over my threshold but by this time I am choosing to be a supportive wife since he works really hard and I hardly work (at least in the conventional sense). Fast forward a few months and… well you know where I’m going. We are the proud owners of some very expensive, rarely used junk.

Now, you may be asking, what does all this have to do with blogging? Well, apparently Stefan’s interest in starting a blog, which has been simmering for some time, has recently come to a boil. Thus here we are… starting a blog about the minutiae of our lives. Stefan is very enthusiastic about how fun and cool this experience will be, and think of posterity! Is anyone recognizing the pattern yet? But here is the rub – by the time he “fades out” of this obsession there will be people who are checking this blog everyday. And I’m not talking about those people who read blogs for a living that I’ll never meet, I’m referring to our family and friends who live far from us. I expect this blog could become a way for them to feel closer to us, and more importantly our children, despite geographic distance. So who will be the one left to blog for all eternity? Mama Urch, that’s right, and I already have way too much work to do.

2 thoughts on “On Blogging…

  1. I think two things specifically gave Stefan the push to drags us all into the blogosphere. First, one day not too long ago I called him at work a few times to relate to him Katie’s particularly humorous antics. He said You should start a blog so I can read it from work I said No way! I should no better than to tell him no, it just eggs him on. The second thing, which happened within days of the first, was he was reading some other blog about someone’s life/kids and thought That was really funny, Katie and Tristan do funny stuff like that all the time, we should start a blog

    So here we are…

Leave a Reply

